Ramble and Babble 3

The haze was truly terrible, for a second successive day. It worked as if the gods fired tear gases from above. Do not blame the pollution on burning Sumatran jungles. The weather was hot and dry. I had to work in my garden, without protest. I quenched my thirst with beer and wine. Mineral water was not allowed.

It might topple the government, even without carrying salt in the March. The logic for the strange ban was an Arabian inspiration. Only Malaysian leaders had such skewed epiphany. Their dominant ideologies were clogged up by the fat from the treasury. They think outside the boxes and within their pockets.

Fancied in a week, the municipality came and fumigated the houses thrice, for five households in my street suffered from Dengue Fever. How fragile life could be? The larva was found in the pure holy water meant for the gods; they were mating in the flower vases in the altar table. Had these “fallen angels”, the six-legged zebra-looking mosquitoes, bit me in my early morning or late evening exercises, I might not have time to read the latest national scandals. Honestly, I deleted all these forwarded e-mails. It’s not because they are banned now, but it is simply too stupid to read them.

The fumigation and the haze jeopardized our air quality .Widespread reports of burglaries, violence, kidnapping, homicide and suicide aggravated the unease of living. It’s not really that difficult to get injured, robbed or killed in your own street or supermarkets. And why do people still worry about the high cholesterol, diabetes, hypertension and chronic illnesses. The insecurity of living due to poor governance is the worst malignant cancer.

This reminded me of some statements stated in the ancient text, Yi Jing (Book of change), which I have translated thus:

When the system is impoverished, implement change;

When the right change is implemented, it will work again;

When the renew system works, it will endure;

When it endures too long, it becomes impoverish again.

 

4 thoughts on “Ramble and Babble 3

  1. Chris

    A fascinating post, full of such varied and evocative images. It reads like a prose poem in places, recording the times, and revealing just how strange an ‘ordinary’ day in Malaysia really is. Since I see you are something of a poet as well, perhaps you could rework it explicitly as such. With that amazing image of the wriggling larva in an altar dish, I immediately think of Yusuf Komunyakaa, especially his “Talking Dirty to the Gods”. I’ll try to remember to bring it to class if you haven’t yet seen it.
    Best,
    Chris

    Reply
  2. wonkywizard Post author

    Chris, I appreciate your generous comment, and your recommendation to read Yusuf Komunyakaa. What I have learned from my teachers, I have tried to apply them in my blog.Peter Kivy, in his writing about “The Experience of Reading”, wrote about the “gaps and the afterlife of the silent reading experience.” The narrator is dead to have an “afterlife” for the readers to “interpret”. Each “perform” in their own ways.
    Some of my friends have phobia in reading poetry. I hope they will enjoy my prose.
    .

    Reply
  3. wonkywizard Post author

    Chris recommended Yusef to me. He is/was a professor of English at Princeton, poet and philosopher of repute.He considered “Eros and Maggots with equal insight”. You search “Talking Dirty to the Gods”, you will read his long list of poems: Hearsay, Homo Eretus,The Centaur.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

