Link

We were invited to my sister’s Mothers’ Day celebration. I was told the chef was a paraplegic, and cooked from his wheelchair. He had rail-tracks fixed on the floor, for side movement, in his small and messy kitchen, and the stove were constructed for the comfort of his sitting height. In this crowed and steamy place, he had 2 -3 helpers. I was told he had disc prolapse at his lumbar spine several years ago, and ended up paraplegic after three blighted surgeries. A friend told me he could stand erect at one stage, but condition worsened. He cooked good Hock Chew (Southern China) cuisine. I found some of his best dishes were good and prices reasonable. I had his permission to photograph him and when I told him I would insert these pictures into my blog, he offered me his best free dish, “Monk Jump Over The Fence” ( meaning the soup was so excellent that monks salivate over it). I declined his generosity, for I always prefer to pay – no obligation. I noticed during his rest, his lower limbs were thin and wasted, but they could move, that is, more of paraparesis (partial nerve injury than full) than paraplegia.

Leave a Reply

