MERMAIDS SINGING UNDER THE MOONS

MERMAIDS SINGING UNDER THE MOONS

Out of breathe, when I walk my granddaughter back,

She races fast; I can’t keep up her pace, my joints crack.

I shoulder her heavy bag, with an umbrella, she air drifts,

I grasp for speed to caution and call her to down shifts.

The clock tick tock loud, my heart jumps out of the chest,

She stops at the junction, from afar I see, and safe to rest.

The battery has yet to expire, no flashing of past memory,

No fairies, visitation and tunnel light before last sip of cherry.

At seventy, I measure life with morning coffee, not the spoons,

Do I dare to have mermaids come and go under the moons?

4 thoughts on “MERMAIDS SINGING UNDER THE MOONS

  1. The Emu

    That was enjoyable reading, we all age as time marches on.
    Be not afraid to dream your granddaughters dreams, and have mermaids come and go under the moons?

    Reply
  2. wonkywizard Post author

    Thanks Emu. Eliot in his “Love Song of Prufrock” thought the mermaids did not sing to him; maybe he dared not dreamt in another’s dream. After the song, I woke up alive again for another cup of morning coffee. Who bothers to measure it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

